2 years ago Aparna Nair 0



Rangoon is an upcoming 2017 Indian Hindi-language drama film. Directed by Vishal Bhardwaj and produced by Sajid Nadiadwala and Viacom 18 Motion Pictures.

The project is a period movie set during World War II (1939-1945) and probably portrays the life and times of Mary Ann Evans aka Fearless Nadia, Bollywood first original stunt-woman still remembered for her fiery role in film Hunterwali. It stars Kangana Ranaut, Saif Ali Khan, and Shahid Kapoor in lead roles.


1. Directed Vishal Bhardwaj
2. Produced Sajid Nadiadwala, Vishal Bhardwaj
3. Written Matthew Robbins, Vishal Bhardwaj, Sabrina Dhawan
4. Music Vishal Bhardwaj
5. Cinematography Pankaj Kumar
6. Edited Aalaap Majgavkar
7. Production company Nadiadwala Grandson Entertainment
8. Distributed Viacom 18 Motion Pictures


Star Cast

1. Saif Ali Khan Rustom Rusi Billimoria
2. Shahid Kapoor Nawab Malik
3. Kangana Ranaut Miss Julia
4. Richard McCabe


Release Date

1. Release date 24 February 2017
2. Country India
3. Language Hindi



About Movie/Story Plot

Rangoon is a love triangle between the Saif Ali Khan, Shahid Kapoor and Kangna Ranaut. It is set against the backdrop of the Second World War. Regarding the story, Vishal said that “In history, very few people know that India also involved in World War II. On Burma border, the British Indian army was fighting against the Subhash Chandra Bose’s Indian National Army, who were with the Japanese army and Indians were killing Indians at the Burma border”.



Vishal Bhardwaj supposed to shoot film after the Omkara (2006). However, the film was stalled for the unknown reasons. It was previously titled, Julia. The screenplay written by the Matthew Robbins, who previously collaborated for 7 Khoon Maaf (2011).

The film shooting began on 18 November 2015 in Arunachal Pradesh. Many junior artists from Manipur, Arunachal joined the crew for the first shift. In mid-January, the film shooting halted due to an injury to Shahid Kapoor and Japanese actor. Kangana Ranaut will be traveling to New York to research her role and will direct to an island in Mexico to learn solo living.



The music is compose by Vishal Bhardwaj, while the lyrics have penned by Gulzar. The first song named ‘Bloody Hell’ from the movie released on 11 January 2017, along with the music video. The full movie soundtrack is unveiled on January 18, and it consists 12 songs in total, including the movie theme song. T-Series buy the music rights.


Sr.No Song Name Singer’s
1 “Bloody Hell” Sunidhi Chauhan
2 “Yeh Ishq Hai” Arijit Singh
3 “Mere Miyan Gaye England” Rekha Bhardwaj
4 “Tippa” Sukhwinder Singh, Rekha Bhardwaj, Sunidhi Chauhan
5 “Ek Dooni Do” Rekha Bhardwaj
6 “Alvida” Arijit Singh
7 “Julia” Sukhwinder Singh, K.K, Kunal Ganjawala
8 “Chori Chori” Rekha Bhardwaj
9 “Yeh Ishq Hai” Rekha Bhardwaj
10 “Rangoon Theme” Instrumental
11 “Be Still” Dominique Cerejo
12 “Shimmy Shake” Vivienne Pocha